Welcome to the GAA

A resource for tree care professionals and the public to protect and care for Georgia's trees.


    Each year, the GAA awards and thanks people who have given extra time and energy to help our organization and the professionals and communities we serve. The following are our award categories.

    Kim Coder Education Award
    Awarded in recognition of lifetime achievement for a career of educational efforts. The person who receives it best demonstrates Dr. Coder's commitment to educate arborists and the public about trees and professional tree care.

    2023: Joan Scales, Georgia Forestry Association

    2022: Dr. Jean Williams-Woodward, University of Georgia
    2021: Tierson Boutte, Boutte Tree

    2020: David Dechant, Arborguard

    2019: Mary Lynne Beckley, Georgia Tree Council

    2018: Chris Barneycastle, Barneycastle Forestry Services

    2017: Joe Burgess

    2016: Ed Macie
    2015: Marcia Bansley, Trees Atlanta
    2014: Nancy Beckemeyer
    2013: Patrick Mawhinney, Prestige Shrub and Tree
    2012: Peter Jenkins, TreeInspection.com
    2011: Dale Higdon, Retired Georgia Forestry Commission/Consultant
    2010: Spence Rosenfeld, Arborguard Tree Experts
    2009: Gary Peiffer, DeKalb County Extension
    2008 (no award given)
    2007: Hugh Tyer, Arborist/Consultant
    2006: Kim Coder, PhD, Warnell School of Forest Resources, UGA

    White Oak Award

    This award is for demonstrated leadership, commitment, innovation, impact and sustainability in tree work.

    2023: Save Georgia's Hemlocks

    2022: Logan House, Arbor Equity

    2021: Greening Youth Foundation

    2020: Shem Kendrick & Jeff Padgett, Coastal Arbor Care

    Members of the Year

    This award is presented to the individual who has shown the best support for GAA and all of its activities.

    2023: Shem Kendrick, Coastal Arbor Care

    2022: Joan ScalesGeorgia Forestry Commission

    Past winners: Ellen Bauske, Dept. of Plant Pathology, Program Coordinator, UGA Center for Urban Agriculture

    Rolando Orellana, Urban Water Management Agent, University of Georgia, Urban Agriculture

    GAA President Award

    Awarded to the current President of the GAA for his/her efforts on behalf of the organization, or a special award given by the GAA Board President.

    2023: Siren's Project
    2022: Brian Ziegler, Gunnison Tree Service
    2021: Christie Bryant

    2017: Chris Barneycastle
    2016: Rusty Lee

    Tree Climbing Championship Award
    Awarded to the person responsible for planning and managing this high-visibility GAA event or to the volunteer who helped.

    2023: Danae Jackson
    Christie Bryant, Speaking for the Trees
    2017: Mark Collins
    2016: Eric Gansauer

    GAA Arborist of the Year

    Awarded to the arborist who has most supported the organization by being involved in many aspects
    of our work and activities during the year.

    2023: Kay Evanovich, City of Decatur
    2022: David Breeden, Husqvarna, Georgia Tree Masters, Arbor Pro Consulting & Training
    2021: Christie Bryant

    2017: Josh Correll

    2016: David Dechant

    Company of the Year
    Presented to the company which stands out in its support of and help with GAA activities during the year.

    2023: Gunnison Tree Service
    2022: New Urban Forestry
    2017: Davey Tree Experts

    2016: Downey Tree Services, Inc.

    Community Service Award

    Awarded to a company or person who has  best demonstrated their interest in community service, including in GAA service events,

    during the year.

    2023: Georgia Tree Council
    2022: Georgia Forestry Commission
    2021: Brian Williams, Trees Atlanta

    2017: Dan Bauer, Arbor Equity
    2016:  Dan Bauer, Arbor Equity

    Friend of GAA Award

    Awarded to the person, company or organization that has gone out of their way to support arboriculture and/or the GAA and its educational goals.

    2023: Aaron Poulsen, Gwinnett Tech
    Neil Norton, Treeinspection.com
    2021: John Snow, Founder Tree Check Up Pro & Terry Raby, President Airtech Tools

    2020: Richie Braman, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Center for Urban Agriculture

    Systems Administrator and Developer;

    Husqvarna, David Breeden, Territory Manager-Metro Atlanta

    2017: Mary Lynn Beckely, Georgia Urban Forest Council; Gretchen Musser, ARBORology, LLC; Drew Preston Georgia Forestry Commission

    2016: Bob Delbridge; Georgia Forestry Commission

    Commercial Arboriculture Safety Award

    Presented to the company or individual in a company that initiates the most innovative safety practice or safety program.

    2023: Top Tier Trees
    2022: Boutte Tree
    2017: Arborguard Tree Specialists

    2016: Boutte Tree, Inc.

    Georgia Arborist Association

    Email:  info@georgiaarborist.org
    Phone:  (404) 913-1422
    Address:  GAA ~ P.O. Box 2516, Decatur GA 30031

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software